IN LOVE WITH HAND LETTERING

        The Artistic Life Blog from Emily Cromwell

I would just like to start off by saying that I only started to teach myself hand lettering last week…and I’m already IN LOVE with it! I mean, I thought that using my Wacom tablet to hand write words on the computer was enjoyable but this is great!! It’s so much fun…and extremely relaxing as well. It’s a great stress reliever.

HOW DO YOU LEARN IT?

I went on over to Pinterest (because I’m addicted) and started searching around for some hand lettering examples and tutorials…and literally hundreds of pins came up on my screen…You could guess that I was glued to my computer for the following hours…Anyways! I definitely suggest pinterest, or even youtube has some great tutorial videos that some users have posted on there as well.

Take a trip on over to my Hand Lettering Inspiration Board on Pinterest for some great resources!!

WHAT SUPPLIES DO YOU NEED?

I use Faber Castell 4 PITT artist black pens. They come in 4 different pen shape grades and are very easy (and non messy!!) to work with. I always use a pencil first when writing my letters and then I trace over the pencil marks with the markers…and whenever I use an eraser to get rid of the left over pencil marks, there is absolutely no smudging!
For really thin lines I like to use Pigma Micron Archival Ink sizes 03 and 05. Those work just like the Faber Castells too.

MY HAND LETTERING DESIGNS

I also wanted to show you guys some examples of the hand lettering that I’ve done! Personally, after I scan them into my computer (which are the pictures I’m showing you), I like to use the Adobe software programs to add color from which I turn them into greeting cards that I sell in my craft business! (But that process is for another post!)

The Artistic Life Blog by Emily Cromwell

The Artistic Life Blog by Emily Cromwell

The Artistic Life Blog by Emily Cromwell

The Artistic Life Blog by Emily Cromwell

The Artistic Life Blog by Emily Cromwell

The Artistic Life Blog By Emily Cromwell

The Artistic Life Blog by Emily Cromwell

The Artistic Life Blog by Emily Cromwell

The Artistic Life Blog by Emily Cromwell

THAT’S A WRAP!

Alright everyone, that’s all I’ve got for you today. Hopefully this will be a helpful start to get you on your way to hand lettering!
The Artistic Life Blog by Emily Cromwell
Leave a Reply

