The Story Behind the Abstract Lily

The following artwork was done by me about a month ago, and I’d have to say that it is definitely one of my most favorite paintings that I have done. The painting actually started out as a drawing in pen…but after studying it for a couple minutes, I realized that I could really make the drawing come to life by adding some color. Then I was faced with the task of what colors to add….I knew that I didn’t want it to look like just another lily…I wanted it to speak for itself, and be beautiful in a mysterious way. I chose to go in the route of this fiery palette that you see, using drip methods and alcohol spray.

I can’t wait to do another one of these!!!

Lily by Emily Cromwell

One thought on “The Story Behind the Abstract Lily

Leave a Reply

